Aftermarket head unit solution for 08-12 path non bose.

Oh yeah, it's the geek bling with flashing lights, just can't get enough.

Moderator: volvite

Kdu800490

Aftermarket head unit solution for 08-12 path non bose.

Postby Kdu800490 » Mon Aug 24, 2015 12:00 pm

Newbie here.

Not sure if this has been done yet but it is possible to install aftermarket single DIN headunit without the need for the 300 dollar adapter and be able to retain all the infotainment functions. I installed mine in the empty cubby hole. Tapped the power, dimmer and ignition along with all the speaker wires and plugged everything back in and voila, it works perfectly. Installed Polk audio all around and the sound has been transformed ten folds and an amp hasn't even been installed yet.

Right now the head unit just has stuffing all around it to keep it still until I figure out a way to mount it. Any ideas? I'm thinking I might use the cubby hole mount as a template.
https://drive.google.com/file/d/0BxSEnd ... cslist_api

AtlantaRuffian

Postby AtlantaRuffian » Wed Aug 26, 2015 5:45 am

Whoa, that's a great idea!

So is the volume controlled by the new single din unit? I'm very intrigued by this idea; any chance you may be able to go into a little more detail about how you installed/hooked this up and how it all works?

Kdu800490

Postby Kdu800490 » Wed Aug 26, 2015 1:14 pm

If you don't mind splicing wires, its simple. I don't think this will work if you have Bose audio since there is an external amplifier most likely.