Newbie From Sacramento looking to buy

Post a pic of your ride, tell us where you're from, what vehicle your Path replaced, etc etc.

Moderator: volvite

mark916

Newbie From Sacramento looking to buy

Postby mark916 » Tue Jan 29, 2019 7:55 pm

Hi All, I don't have a Pathfinder just yet, but I'm looking to buy one in the Sacramento area, I have my eye on two so far, one from a independent dealer

2012 Pathfinder S V6 2WD asking $11.998 with 80K miles, super clean in and out, test drove it today, drives straight, no steering vibration, pulls strong, brakes hard. new tires. Got underneath, no oil leaks from what I can see, no frame damage, all the doors close and lock with just a push, Carfax is clean, I just noticed at start-up and idle, the fan seems to roar on the loud side. I had this issue with my Sequoia, turned out to be a fan clutch, but wasn't really an expensive part to install myself. But I'm new to Nissan vehicles, mostly Toyota and Audi and Volkswagen family.

If it turns out to be a fan clutch issue on the Pathfinder, is this a dealer recommended part, is aftermarket OEM parts ok for Pathfinder. I know this is a touchy subject on the Audi Forums with aftermarket OEM parts. :D

I'm also checking out a 2007 Pathfinder S V6 2WD from Carmax in Sacramento for $12,998 with only 74K miles on it, doesn't look a clean as the 2012 model, but I will test drive it on Thursday to see this one at Carmax.

Hopfully I can purchase one and start checking out this forum. Thanks

Mark
Sacramento, CA

underworld1001

Postby underworld1001 » Tue Jan 29, 2019 9:29 pm

All things considered, stick with the 12.

Couldn't help you on the fan clutch part though. Mine roars at startup sometime, then quiets down after a few seconds. Not sure if that is the case with the ones you looked at. This thread might be helpful - http://www.thenissanpath.com/viewtopic.php?t=17694

mark916

Postby mark916 » Tue Jan 29, 2019 9:39 pm