limited steering while in 4x4

Topics relating to Lift Kits, Suspension, Steering...

Moderator: volvite

Goliat6288

limited steering while in 4x4

Postby Goliat6288 » Tue Mar 24, 2015 10:03 am

Hey
Ive had my 07 pathfinder for about 2 yrs now. This winter was the first time i really tried to turn my steering wheel all the way while on 4x4, i think i was doing a u turn. I noticed that it doesnt cut all the way to either side. I cut it all the way and felt something pulling back on it. Switched it back to 2x4 and the pulling stopped, i was also able to turn it a little more. Im new to 4x4 so i dont know if this is normal or not.ive tried searching before putting it up but i havent found anything.
Thanks in advanced

skinny2
Sponsored Member

Postby skinny2 » Tue Mar 24, 2015 12:59 pm

If you have the standard 4x4 (not auto4x4) It will definitely steer different when locked in. The tires rotate at different speeds when turning and even on slippery surfaces you can feel the resistance a little. If you are turning on a surface that's not completely slippery, it can jerk you around and really cause problems because it binds the drive shafts. That's why you really only want to run 4x4 when the roads are snow covered/slippery.

The LE models come with an auto system has additional hardware that compensates when turning on dry roads.

Kestral

Re: limited steering while in 4x4

Postby Kestral » Wed Mar 25, 2015 9:40 am

Goliat6288 wrote:Hey
Ive had my 07 pathfinder for about 2 yrs now. This winter was the first time i really tried to turn my steering wheel all the way while on 4x4, i think i was doing a u turn. I noticed that it doesnt cut all the way to either side. I cut it all the way and felt something pulling back on it. Switched it back to 2x4 and the pulling stopped, i was also able to turn it a little more. Im new to 4x4 so i dont know if this is normal or not.ive tried searching before putting it up but i havent found anything.
Thanks in advanced