LED Light Bar V.S. spotlights and or KC style bulbs

Attack of the unibody snatchers! Styling and handling refined or bland? You decide.

Moderator: volvite

LEDs V.S. Spotlights

LEDS
100%
Spotlights
No votes

Total votes: 5

FindingBacon

LED Light Bar V.S. spotlights and or KC style bulbs

Postby FindingBacon » Tue Dec 22, 2015 11:43 pm

I'm finding that my stock headlights and fog lights aren't enough when I'm driving and on trails later in the evening and at night. I'm a college student on a somewhat tight budget but I almost need more light so I'm wondering what will be a better investment LED light bars, or traditional. I'm not saying I can only get one, but Id rather try to keep it to one or the other. Thanks!

moymurfs

Postby moymurfs » Wed Dec 23, 2015 8:32 am

Easiest thing to do, for a start, is upgrade the factory fogs. Remove them, cut the pigtail connectors off each lamp, wire the pigtails onto your new lights and mount them. You keep the factory switch and they stay legal by turning off when your high beams come on. Leds are great and will draw less. If you go with a conventional light just check the amp draw so you don't exceed the stock fuse.

For headlights, you could go with a HID kit. The Sylvania super white bulbs (or whatever they are called) do make a difference but don't have very much longevity. LED replacement bulbs are still kind of hit or miss. Many scatter light in the wrong places.

Hdinsmore94

Postby Hdinsmore94 » Wed Dec 23, 2015 9:37 pm

I've had my fair share of light set ups, (ARB intensity 9" spot lights, 50" Osram curved light bars and many more), and I strongly recommend Osram light bars. By far the best value lights I've ever owned. So greatly priced, strong and damn bright.

FindingBacon

Postby FindingBacon » Wed Jan 06, 2016 5:49 pm

Thanks guys, these were very helpful ill look into doin those upgrades when I get the money.

Touchdown

Postby Touchdown » Thu Jan 07, 2016 9:34 am