Vibrations

The Gas and Diesel Engines - VQ40De, VK56DE, YD25DDTi, V9X, Transmission, Transfer Case, Oil, Differentials, Axles, Exhaust...

Moderator: volvite

car_bore

Vibrations

Postby car_bore » Tue Jul 07, 2015 9:55 pm

Hey guys,

I have this vibration at exactly 85 mph and above. I rarely hit those kind of speed unless the road is empty and during the night only that is why I ignore the vibrations. Is this something I should be worried about? If I continue ignoring it, will it have a long term effect on the car? What could be causing the vibrations?

porksoda

Postby porksoda » Tue Jul 07, 2015 10:49 pm

With it vibrating only at a certain MPH and up makes me think it is a tire balance issue. First thing I would recommend is have a shop rebalance your tires. I used to work in a shop and pretty much any kind of vibration that you get after 65+MPH is caused by Balancing or a problem with your tires.

Sometimes a tire might have a knot in it or your tires could be wore irregular due to something wrong with your suspension.
I think it'll be just something simple like a balance.

car_bore

Postby car_bore » Tue Jul 07, 2015 10:57 pm

porksoda wrote:With it vibrating only at a certain MPH and up makes me think it is a tire balance issue. First thing I would recommend is have a shop rebalance your tires. I used to work in a shop and pretty much any kind of vibration that you get after 65+MPH is caused by Balancing or a problem with your tires.

Sometimes a tire might have a knot in it or your tires could be wore irregular due to something wrong with your suspension.
I think it'll be just something simple like a balance.
Thank you for your reply.

I already had my pf wheel balanced, and everything "seems" to be fine. All four tires are also brand new but I've played with the tire pressure as to improve my mpg. I'm not sure if all tires are pumped up the same pressure, but could uneven tire pressure cause a vibration?

porksoda