05 Pathfinder issues please advise code P0174 lean bank 2

The Gas and Diesel Engines - VQ40De, VK56DE, YD25DDTi, V9X, Transmission, Transfer Case, Oil, Differentials, Axles, Exhaust...

Moderator: volvite

curvecrazy

05 Pathfinder issues please advise code P0174 lean bank 2

Postby curvecrazy » Tue Jan 24, 2012 8:57 pm

I'm kind of frazzled here. 05 Pathfinder has check engine light with 96K miles. Been on for a few weeks now. I've been fooling around trying to sort it without success. Had local auto parts store scan it when I first got the light to see what the hell.... PO174 Lean condition bank 2 which is the drivers side on the 4.0 V6 engine. Cylinders 2, 4 ,6 respectively.

I've got limited knowledge here. I do have the service manual on CD and have spent hours reading that to better understand this scenario and hours on the internet too regarding others experiences here which didn't really get me anywhere frankly. One poster claiming be a ase cert. mechanic saying it is definitely not an O2 sensor so don't waste your money replacing that..... Which was kind of disheartening cause I had hoped it was that. fwiw

Based on my research, what I've found is that it can be:

- Intake manifold air leak
- Exhaust manifold air leak ahead of / before the O2 sensors catalytic converters
- Low fuel pressure
- Faulty fuel injector/s
- Possibly MAF sensor (but seems it should then put out lean codes for both banks 1 and 2 no?)
- Possibly O2 sensor before or after catalytic converters ( 4 cats on vehicle and 4 O2 sensors the rears both heated)
- Incorrect PCV hose connection

I have worked on this awhile. Started after the check light and code reading with a Lucas fuel system treatment. Crossed fingers and hoped. Light went off, car ran better shortly, then light back on and car started to hesitate/sluggish on freeway driving home. Seemed sort of like bucking behavior.