Coolant - how hot?

The Gas and Diesel Engines - VQ40De, VK56DE, YD25DDTi, V9X, Transmission, Transfer Case, Oil, Differentials, Axles, Exhaust...

Moderator: volvite

jspitz

Coolant - how hot?

Postby jspitz » Wed Jun 12, 2013 6:57 am

I've been running a ScanGaugeII for several years and recently have seen higher than normal (I think) coolant temps. From memory, coolant while driving was usually ~193-206 F. Recently it seems to climb to about 215, and occasionally hits 218 momentarily. It will also drop to the low 200s, but I haven't seen it drop to the 190s lately. Behavior seems roughly the same at speeds anywhere between 30 and 75. At idle, temps drop to just North of 200.

Yesterday, I tried running the rear heat on a 63 degree morning to see if it worked - it didn't, and to see if it had any effect (+/-) on coolant temp - no dice there either.

Coolant was replaced about 16 months / 21k miles ago with genuine Nissan coolant and there is some in the reserve tank.

The coolant temp gauge seems to have 2 positions - "cold", and about 40% up from cold.

Any thoughts? Coolant burp? Stuck thermostat? I plan to replace the rad soon since I'm probably pushing my luck on the trans fluid intermixing at 111k miles.

Thanks.

DanJetta

Postby DanJetta » Wed Jun 12, 2013 2:09 pm

It does sound like you have air in the lines. I would try burping it. The process is wonderfully simple on the Pathfinder.

Though I don't know exactly what temp the coolant should be, I can tell you that my temp gauge usually sits exactly between the 1/4 and 1/2 way point.

oreogaborio

Postby oreogaborio » Wed Jul 03, 2013 8:15 am

my bully dog usually reads about 195*

doctahjones

Postby doctahjones » Wed Jul 03, 2013 8:31 am

oreogaborio wrote:my bully dog usually reads about 195*

same with mine, usually around 190-195. don't think i've ever seen it go over 200, -ever-.

in the winter months it's usually more around the 178-185 range.

jspitz

Postby jspitz » Wed Jul 03, 2013 8:57 am