Replacing an 02 Sensor

The Gas and Diesel Engines - VQ40De, VK56DE, YD25DDTi, V9X, Transmission, Transfer Case, Oil, Differentials, Axles, Exhaust...

Moderator: volvite

calinissan

Replacing an 02 Sensor

Postby calinissan » Thu Nov 21, 2013 12:32 pm

Hello fellow Pathfinder owners:

I am looking to replace the aft Bank2 O2 sensor on my '05 Pathy (4.0L - edited typo).

I've been looking for how-to pictures or videos on the net and have little luck finding a resource.

Can anyone out there help me out on how to do this myself? I am no mechanic, but I do change the oil, replace spark plugs and coils, and hell I can even change a light bulb. However, I don't know where that specific Bank2 second 02 sensor is, and how to best access it for replacement.

Lastly, I understand I need a special O2 sensor removal tool, is this correct?

Any insight is most appreciated.
Last edited by calinissan on Sat Nov 23, 2013 4:02 pm, edited 1 time in total.

forgottenzone

Postby forgottenzone » Thu Nov 21, 2013 10:05 pm

The driver's side bank would be bank number 2, thus the forward / upstream sensor on that bank would be "bank 2, sensor 1," and the rearmost / downstream sensor on that bank would be "bank 2, sensor 2.

So bank 2, 2nd sensor is the one behind the catalytic converter closer to the rear of the vehicle.
and you shouldn't need any special tool you should be able to use open wrench. just disconnect the O2 wire plug. slide the correct size wrench over the plug and wires and that should be it. will need some elbow grease behind the wrench if it has been on for a long time.

calinissan

Postby calinissan » Thu Nov 21, 2013 11:05 pm

Thanks for the response - is it accessible from under the bonet or underneath the car?

smj999smj
Site Admin

Postby smj999smj » Thu Nov 21, 2013 11:55 pm

Under the vehicle.

calinissan

Postby calinissan » Fri Nov 22, 2013 8:30 am

Got it, thank you. Will be working on it over the holidays and will post up pics for others' reference.