Towing newbie, need some tips.

**** PLEASE USE SUBTOPICS BELOW FOR NEW TOPICS ****

Moderator: volvite

kev1n

Towing newbie, need some tips.

Postby kev1n » Sun Jan 15, 2012 8:07 pm

Hi all,

I'll be moving in a month and I was considering getting a uhaul enclosed trailer (6' x 12') to help with the job. Similar to this

http://www.uhaul.com/Reservations/Equip ... x?model=RV

I wanted to know what I need for my truck to attach an enclosed trailer like that. I've never done this before so any tips would be greatly appreciated. Apparently a hitch is required? How do the hydraluic brakes on a trailer work? And how do I hook up the lights to my brake lights? I have so many questions yet I can't think of them at the moment. The stress of packing and moving is already enough lol.

thanks

Kev

amr40509

Postby amr40509 » Mon Jan 16, 2012 4:08 am

First - relax, I've pulled that size enclosed trailer, your Pathfinder will be a good fit for it.

Hitch - you will need a trailer hitch with a 2" ball. You want the trailer to be level (roughly) when hooked to the truck.

You'll notice then when you buy a hitch ball attached to a hitch insert it will be set up to lower or raise the ball in relationship to the truck. Our hitches are mounted pretty high, so something in the ballpark of a 4.5" drop is probably about right. If the truck and trailer are both loaded down, the truck is going to sit a little lower in the back then normal, keep that in mind when you look at the setup at the rental place with empty truck and trailer.
The more "full service" trailer rental places will also have a good selection of hitch balls, the ones that rent out of a gas station probably won't.

The guy at the rental place will help you hook up the trailer, ask him to talk you through it incase you have to unhook/reattach it at some point.

The Pathfinder is Pre-wired, so don't worry about light hookups, the rental guy will show you this, but it's a non-issue.