Front Wheel Hub replacement

Attack of the unibody snatchers! Styling and handling refined or bland? You decide.

Moderator: volvite

ryanh2012

Front Wheel Hub replacement

Postby ryanh2012 » Wed Sep 26, 2012 5:31 pm

Hi, I'm new to this forum but was hoping someone could answer a few questions I have about my sisters 2001 pathy 4wd. She experiences a vibration at around 40 mph but once she gets past it the vibration goes away. The mechanic told her she needs a new hub.

The question I have is how much should this cost or if I ordered the parts how hard would it be to replace myself? I am currently studying automotive technology at SIU Carbondale so I have access to plenty of tools and am pretty good at this type of work just not very experienced. Any help is appreciated.

IanH

Postby IanH » Fri Oct 05, 2012 4:10 pm

I would/ did put the hub last on my list. how did they determine it needed replacement?
did they do a run-out measurement or is this one of those we replace this and it didn't work, so we will replace this next !!!!

So the Hub is easy to replace except the drive-shaft bearing is in the hub, so you need a new one if the part doesn't come with it, 2 seals, tool to un-lock and torque the bearings, and re-lock.
and maybe two new bearings, they are tapered roller bearing, so chances are they are still ok. inspect and check for smoothness.

But getting back to what the problem might be ... in order of time and cost and probability IMHO....
rotate another wheel and tire to this position first.
Then check wheel bearings for adjustment/ slop. tighten if lose.
get tires balanced and checked for run out or hop. please go to a shop that knows what they are doing for this.
check drive shaft for looseness in hub and slop in u joints.
finally i would add check hub for run-out and replace if bad.

Maybe this mechanic, cough cough, doesn't know the wheel bearing are adjustable !!!

hybridmomentspass

Postby hybridmomentspass » Fri Dec 14, 2012 10:04 am